ZEE5 Launches Tamil Web Series Kallachirippu, Starring Amrutha Srinivasan

ZEE5 Launches Tamil Web Series Kallachirippu, Starring Amrutha Srinivasan


ZEE5 – India’s largest and most comprehensive digital entertainment platform for language content — yesterday announced the launch of the second ZEE5 Original in Tamil – Kallachirippu.

Produced by Karthik Subburaj of Mercury and Jigarthanda fame, Kallachirippu that translates as ‘Picture Perfect’, is an intense thriller drama about a young urban couple whose arranged marriage goes horribly wrong when the wife accidentally kills her husband. This sets off a chain of events that reveal the true nature of every character involved in this marriage. On a deeper level, it delves into the unpredictability of life and the façade that one keeps up in society.

The series stars Amrutha Srinivasan, who was applauded for her role in the superhit Mental Madhilo, and will be available for binge-watching from July 23rd onwards.

Catch the trailer here:

Speaking at the launch event, producer of the web series Karthik Subbaraj says, “Kallachirippu is the first web series from my production house, Stone Bench Productions, and it explores thriller as a genre. The Tamil audience today is seeking more edgy content and hence the web-series formats work brilliantly for us. Given the ZEE Group’s prowess in producing unique content and their wide reach across the country and globally, I am thrilled to make my debut with them.”


Manish Aggarwal, Business Head – ZEE5 India said, “We have recently strengthened our Tamil content offering, and Kallachirrupu is yet another exciting addition. We have received a phenomenal response from the Tamil-speaking audience all across the world which is indicative of their readiness for content such as ours. I am confident that Kallachirippu will be a benchmark in Tamil digital content history and I am really looking forward to the audience response on this one.”

ZEE5 hosted a grand party to celebrate the launch that was attended by industry stalwarts including renowned directors Vettrimaran, Ram, Partiban, Aravind Krishna, Prasanna, Balaji Mohan and Vignesh Shivan.

Leave a Reply